Using the Blackboard "Create Audio" Function

The Create > Audio feature allows you to upload an audio file directly into your Blackboard course to which you add very little contextual information. The audio file will be played within whichever application is configured within the user’s browser. This might be quicktime or media player. A link to download the file will also be created. You may prefer to use the Add Podcast feature under Add Interactive Tool as this uses an Adobe Flash based player and allows the use of RSS subscription.

Edit Mode

Edit Mode

1. Check that Edit Mode is turned ON.  This can be switched by clicking ON or OFF.

Choose Content Area

Choose Content Area

2. Choose the Content Area into which you wish to add your content.  All the content areas work in the same way, if you have renamed or added content areas to your Blackboard course the screenshot above may vary from what you see.

Create Audio

Create Audio

3. Hover your mouse pointer over Build Content and then click on Create Audio.

File Details

File Details

4. To upload an audio file from your computer click on Browse My Computer. If you wish to add an audio file that is already on your course, or which you have added directly into your course files area click on Browse Course.

5. The filename will automatically populate the Name box. However you may over type this if you wish.

6. You may choose a colour for the name to appear in.

7. If you have created a text file with a transcript of the audio you may upload it.

8. If you want the audio to start playing as soon as the user enters the content area into which you are adding this audio file then set Autostart to Yes. We would recommend that you leave it set to No so that users may play the audio when they wish.

9. If you wish for the audio file to repeat after it has reached its end then set Loop to Yes. We would recommend that you set this to No so that users may repeat the playback only if they wish.

Options

Options

10. Set the options according to your preferences.

Permit Users to View this Content
Do you want students to be able to access this content? Selecting No would prevent your students from viewing it, but you would still be able to view it while Edit Mode is ON. The date restrictions option below is a more powerful way of doing a similar action. The default for this option is Yes.

Track number of views
Select Yes to indicate that the system is to track the number of times a user accesses this item. Select No to indicate that the number of times this page is accessed will not be tracked. Only use this option for materials for which you particularly require tracking information. A general report on Course Statistics provides tracking information for the whole course and is available from the Control Panel. For more information about this feature check the link on the right under “What’s Related”.

Select Date and Time Restrictions
If you wish you may restrict when this content will appear. Tick the boxes and determine times and dates as appropriate. Ticking Display After will mean that the content will appear from the time and date that you select. Ticking Display Until will mean that the content will no longer appear (disappear) after the date and time selected has passed. This only affects the way the material appears to students. As a course instructor you can change this setting at any time and the content will always be available to you.

11. Click Submit to finish.