It is now possible to add a Flickr ‘mashup’ to your Blackboard course. Flickr is a third party web site and iSolutions cannot be held responsible for the content held on it. Users should read the Flickr terms and conditions.
1. Check that Edit Mode is turned ON. This can be switched by clicking ON or OFF.
2. Choose the Content Area to which you wish to add your Flickr photo. All the content areas work in the same way, if you have renamed or added content areas to your Blackboard course the screenshot above may vary from what you see.
Enter Search Criteria
4. Enter your search keywords and click on Go. Note you can also choose to do an advanced search by clicking on More Options.
5. You should see a list of search results. Underneath the thumbnail of each photo there is a Preview and Select button. If you wish to see a larger preview of the photo you wish to use, click on Preview. Otherwise click on Select.
6. You may choose to change the display name for the photo as it will appear in your course. You can also choose the colour of the name, and add a description of the photo if you wish.
7. Choose your preferred view for the Flickr photo when it appears in your course. You can either choose to display a Thumbnail of the photo (which can be clicked on) or you can choose to Embed the photo. Note that Thumbnails will show as full sized when View Link is clicked. Embed Photo will show the photo directly on the page without the user having to click on a link.
8. Choose the size of the photo to display. Note that not all photo sizes will be available for all photos on Flickr, as this is dictated by the owner of the photo.
9. Choose whether you want to show the Flickr URL of the photo you are sharing, and also whether you wish to show the Flickr Information for the photo (as entered by the Flickr photo owner)
10. If you want to you can attach a file to this content as well (for instance if you have a word document which accompanies the photo). You can add a file from your computer by clicking on Browse My Computer. This is optional.
11. Set the following options according to your preferences:
Permit Users to View this Content
Do you want students to be able to access this content? Selecting No would prevent your students from viewing it, but you would still be able to view it while Edit Mode is ON. The date restrictions option below is a more powerful way of doing a similar action. The default for this option is Yes.
Track number of views
Select Yes to indicate that the system is to track the number of times a user accesses this item. Select No to indicate that the number of times this page is accessed will not be tracked. Only use this option when you particularly require tracking information. A general report on Course Statistics provides tracking information for the whole course and is available from the Control Panel. For more information about this feature check the link on the right under “What’s Related”.
Select Date and Time Restrictions
If you wish you may restrict when this content will appear. Tick the boxes and determine times and dates as appropriate. Ticking Display After will mean that the content will appear from the time and date that you select. Ticking Display Until will mean that the content will no longer appear (disappear) after the date and time selected has passed. This only affects the way the material appears to students. As a course instructor you can change this setting at any time and the content will always be available to you.
12. Click on Submit. You can preview how your Flickr photo will look by clicking on Preview.