Important Information about Blackboard Groups

With our current version of Blackboard students are by default allowed to create their own Blackboard groups within any course.

You may not want them to do this.  This guide explains where the setting is located.

We have made an official request to Blackboard to change this behaviour so that by default this is not enabled so that instructors are left to enable it if they wish.

Student Groups

Student Groups

1. When students access the group area of your course they are presented with a Create Group button.  This allows them to create groups along with their own chatroom, discussion board, and file exchange areas.

How to disable

How to disable

2. To disable this feature do the following.

3. From your course Control Panel expand the Users and Groups section and click on Groups.

Group Settings

Group Settings

4. Click on Group Settings.

Change Settings?

Change Settings?

5. If you wish to prevent students from creating groups and / or changing the settings for self-created groups remove the ticks from the boxes and click on Submit.