Adobe Connect

Sharing Your Screen in an Adobe Connect Meeting

This guide will demonstrate how to share your screen in an Adobe Connect meeting.

Sharing Your Screen

Sharing Your Screen

If you want to share something with other attendees in a meeting you can do so using a number of different methods.

Firstly, click on the ‘Share My Screen’ button.

Sharing Your Desktop

Sharing Your Desktop

You will then be required to choose what you want to share. If you wish to share your desktop, then select the ‘Desktop’ tab at the top of the window.  If you have more than one monitor, you will be required to select which monitor you wish to share.  Having selected the relevant monitor, click on ‘Share’.

Share Preview

Share Preview

Your selected monitor will now be shared.  The Connect meeting will minimise to a ‘preview’ state whilst you display the share.  You can stop sharing at any time by clicking on the ‘Stop Sharing’ button in this preview window.  Note that if you can’t see the preview, it may have minimised further.  To toggle this, click on the green monitor icon in the lower left hand corner of the preview screen.

Sharing an Application

Sharing an Application

If you wish to share Applications, then select the ‘Applications’ tab followed by the application you wish to share.  Having done this, click on ‘Share’.  This is the best option to choose if you want to share a Word document.

Share Preview

Share Preview

Your selected application will now be shared.  The Connect meeting will minimise to a ‘preview’ state whilst you display the share.  You can stop sharing at any time by clicking on the ‘Stop Sharing’ button in this preview window.  Note that if you can’t see the preview, it may have minimised further.  To toggle this, click on the green monitor icon in the lower left hand corner of the preview screen.

Sharing a Window

Sharing a Window

If you wish to share individual windows which you have open on your desktop, select the ‘Windows’ tab, then select the individual window that you wish to share, before finally clicking ‘Share’.

Share Preview

Share Preview

Your selected window will now be shared.  The Connect meeting will minimise to a ‘preview’ state whilst you display the share.  You can stop sharing at any time by clicking on the ‘Stop Sharing’ button in this preview window.  Note that if you can’t see the preview, it may have minimised further.  To toggle this, click on the green monitor icon in the lower left hand corner of the preview screen.

Sharing Documents in an Adobe Connect Meeting

This step-by-step guide will show you how to share documents in Adobe Connect.

Share Documents

Share Documents

If you want to share something with other attendees in a meeting you can do so using a number of different methods.

Firstly, click on ‘Share My Screen’

Share Documents

Share Documents

Having clicked on ‘Share My Screen’, choose ‘Share Document’.  If you wish to share documents such as PowerPoint files, the ‘Share Document’ option is best. Note that not all filetypes can be shared in this way. Some filetypes such as Word files should be shared by using ‘Share My Screen’ and then ‘Applications’

‘Share Document’ is more useful for sharing items such as PowerPoint files (which can then be scrolled through), images, and Flash videos files.

Share Documents

Share Documents

From here, you can choose what you wish to share.  If you have previously shared documents to this meeting, you will see a list of previously shared documents which you can quickly re-share.  Alternatively, you can click on ‘Browse My Computer…’ in order to upload new content directly to the meeting.  Note that only supported file types will show up (primarily this will be images, PowerPoint files, PDFs, and flash video files).

Share Document Progress

Share Document Progress

Whilst the selected document is uploaded and prepared for sharing, you will see a progress bar.

Sharing a Whiteboard in an Adobe Connect Meeting

This guide will explain how to share a collaborative whiteboard in Adobe Connect.

Share Whiteboard

Share Whiteboard

If you want to share a whiteboard you can do so by clicking on ‘Share My Screen’ and then clicking on ‘Share Whiteboard’.

Whiteboard Layout

Whiteboard Layout

Once you have started sharing a whiteboard you will see the whiteboard tool panel on the left hand side of the whiteboard.

Remember that you may need to give participants enhanced rights to use whiteboard tools if you want them to be able to use the whiteboard.

Adobe Connect

mainconnectlogoAdobe Connect is a web based communication and collaboration tool which allows users to setup and run online meetings. These meetings can include webcam and audio streams for participants in the meeting, whilst also allowing participants to share documents and work collaboratively.

The Adobe Connect system is managed using a web-based front end (the management interface) which users can login to in order to manage their meetings and associated content.

Please note that our licence agreement allows a maximum of 50 attendees at any one time (this can be any combination of meetings / attendees, e.g. 2 meetings with 25 people in each, 10 meetings with 5 people in each, etc).

Adobe Connect Management Interface

The management interface in Connect is the front end in which you manage and edit your meetings.

adobeconnectlogoLogging in to the Adobe Connect management console – This web page explains how to login to the Adobe Connect management interface

adobeconnectlogoOverview of the Adobe Connect management interface – This webpage gives an overview of the default Adobe Connect management interface

Working with meetings in Adobe Connect

The following guides explain the basics of working with meetings, from creating meetings to how to work within the meeting room.

meetingCreating a new meeting – This web page explains how to create a new meeting from the Adobe Connect management interface.

attendeeManaging attendees in a meeting – This web page explains how to work with the attendee pod in an Adobe Connect meeting.

meetingInteracting with the default UoS meeting interface – This web page explains the interface of a standard Adobe Connect meeting.

camvoice1Using your webcam and microphone – This web page explains how to work with the camera pod in an Adobe Connect meeting.

Sharing content in Adobe Connect meetings

There are a number of ways to share different types of content in your Adobe Connect meetings.  The following guides explain the best ways to share different things within a meeting.

Note that you should choose ‘how to share documents’ below if you want to find out how to share PDFs, PowerPoint files, Images, or .flv video files.  For all other filetypes (for instance Word, Excel, etc) you should choose the ‘How to share your screen’ guide.

sharelogoHow to share your screen in an Adobe Connect meeting – This guide explains how to share content displayed on your screen in an Adobe Connect meeting.  If you have more than one monitor you can choose which monitor you wish to share.

sharelogoHow to share a whiteboard in an Adobe Connect meeting – This web page explains how to share an interactive whiteboard in an Adobe Connect meeting.

sharelogoHow to share documents in an Adobe Connect meeting – This guide explains how to share documents in an Adobe Connect meeting. You will only be able to share certain file types using this method.

Working with the Webcam Pod

This step by step guide will explain how to share your webcam in an Adobe Connect meeting.

Starting your Webcam

Starting your Webcam

If you have been given permission to do so, you may wish to broadcast your camera and voice to others in the meeting room.  This is a two step process.  Firstly you must enable your webcam (and microphone if you have a separate microphone) by clicking either the webcam button in the top toolbar, or by clicking ‘Start My Webcam’ in the main webcam pod.  If you have a separate microphone you can start this by clicking the microphone button in the top toolbar.

Having clicked on ‘Start My Webcam’ (or the webcam button), your webcam will be displayed, but only to you.  This is to enable you to re-position the webcam so that you are correctly framed prior to sharing the webcam feed with the rest of the meeting room.

Accept Webcam Access

Accept Webcam Access

When you are happy that you are in frame, you can share your webcam with the entire meeting room by clicking ‘Start Sharing’.