There are three roles and four main permissions available in Collaborate.
The three main roles are
- Moderator – This is the default role of an instructor. Moderators are presenters that also have permission to change people’s roles and put people into breakout rooms.
- Presenter – A presenter can upload images and documents, control the whiteboard and share their screen.
- Participant – This is the default role of a student. Participants can view what is being presented and use the feedback tools such as “raise hand”. They can also contribute depending on what permissions are set.
A moderator can elevate a participant to a presenter or a moderator at any time. They can also demote a presenter back to being a participant after they have finished presenting.
Instructors can set default permissions for participants. These are set before the meeting room opens, but can also be changed on the fly.
- Participant can share audio – Students can use their microphones
- Participant can share video – Students can use their webcams
- Participant can post chat messages – Students can open the chat menu and speak to other students
- Participant can draw on whiteboard – Students can ink over pictures shared by presenters
As these permissions can be changed during the meeting, you may be silenced during while a PowerPoint file is presented, and then allowed to speak afterwards. If you are made a presenter (which also allows you to upload files and share your screen) you will have all four permissions granted automatically.
Microphones and Webcams that are on when disabled by a moderator will be turned off by default if re-enabled later in the meeting.